Book Award Call for Nominations

The American Association for Applied Linguistics is pleased to announce the nomination cycle for the 2020 AAAL Book Award for outstanding work in the field of applied linguistics. In bestowing this award, the association honors high-quality books that make an exceptional contribution to the field as a whole or to a specific area of specialization. The Book Award is given biennially, alternating every other year with the AAAL First Book Award.

The present nomination cycle includes only the AAAL Book Award. The AAAL First Book Award will next be awarded in 2019. While an author’s first book may be submitted for either the general AAAL Book Award or the First Book Award, but not both, the latter award specifically recognizes a scholar’s first book.


Books published in the two years prior to the submission deadline are eligible for consideration. For the present nomination cycle, books must have copyright dates of 2017 or 2018.

Submission of first edition books bearing an ISBN are welcome from any publisher or organization worldwide. Both monographs and edited books are eligible. While second edition books are not eligible, volumes previously published in another language and translated into English may be submitted. A book based on a dissertation may not be submitted for the book award if the dissertation has also been submitted for the AAAL dissertation award in past or present nomination cycles. Similarly, books previously submitted for the first book award may not also be submitted for the general book award and vice versa.

The author(s) of a submitted book must be members of AAAL in good standing. Individuals may renew membership or join AAAL concurrent with nomination.

Submission Procedure

Submission should be made directly by the publishing organization. Complete the online submission form, including the name, address, e-mail, and phone number of the publisher’s point of contact as well as the name, institutional affiliation, and e-mail address of the author(s) or editor(s).

After submitting the online form, submit eleven hardcopies of each book by mail no later than June 1, 2019 to

AAAL Business Office
1827 Powers Ferry Road
Building 14, Suite 100
Atlanta, GA 30339
United States of America

Where hard copy and eBook versions of a book are available, eleven eBook or eleven hard copy versions should be submitted and none will be returned. Books that are available only as eBooks are not eligible.

A publishing organization may submit up to two different titles for consideration in the monograph category and up to two different titles for consideration in the edited book category. To offset administrative costs, a processing fee of 100 USD should be included for each title submitted for consideration. This is an administrative fee only; the book awards do not include a monetary prize for recipients. The fee will be waived for non-profit organizations upon submitted verification of their status in lieu of the processing fee.

Awarding Process

Submissions will be reviewed by an interdisciplinary committee of applied linguistics who will evaluate the production qualities (e.g., title, layout, copyediting, and indexing) and scholarly contributions (e.g., theoretical/methodological rigor, organization and clarity of writing, and potential impact on applied linguistics), with greater weight given to scholarly contributions.

The publishers of books that are selected as the finalists and the award recipient will be notified in January 2020. These publishers will also receive comments from the review committee which may be used for promotional purposes. The award will be presented at the 2020 AAAL annual conference.

Nominees for the award must be an AAAL member at the time of both nomination and award. To verify status, please contact

Please email with questions.