Book Award

The American Association for Applied Linguistics Book Award recognizes outstanding work in the field of applied linguistics.  In bestowing this award, the association honors high quality books that make an exceptional contribution to the field as a whole or to a specific area of specialization.  The Book Award is given biennially, alternating every other year with the First Book Award.

View Call for Nominations



Edited Book: 

"Language Policy and Political Economy"
Edited by: Thomas Ricento
Publisher: Oxford University Press

No Finalists


"The Invention of Monolingualism"
Author: David Gramling
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing


"Emotion and Discourse in L2 Narrative Research"
Author: Matthew T. Prior
Publisher: Multilingual Matter

Author: Alastair Pennycook, Emi Otsuji
Publisher: Routledge

"Usage-Based Approaches to Language Acquisition Processing"
Author: Nick C. Ellis, Ute Römer, Matthew Brook O'Donnell, Mary J. Schleppegrell
Publisher: Wiley


"Translingual Practice: Global Englishes and Cosmopolitan Relations"
Author: Suresh Canagarajah, Professor at The Pennsylvania State University
Publisher: Routledge

"The Language of Murder Cases: Intentionality, Predisposition, and Voluntariness"
Author: Roger W. Shuy
Publisher: Oxford University Press

"Second Language Learning in the Early School Years: Trends and Contexts"
Author: Victoria A. Murphy
Publisher: Oxford University Press