Back to Events

TIRF James E. Alatis Prize

Monday, October 3, 2022

Event Details

TIRF James E. Alatis Prize for Research in Language Policy and Planning in Educational Contexts

The International Research Foundation for English Language Education established the TIRF James E. Alatis Prize for Research on Language Policy and Planning in Educational Contexts to honor the contributions of our outstanding educator and association founder and leader to the field. With this message, we are inviting nominations for the 2023 TIRF Alatis Prize competition. The nomination window is open now through October 3, 2022.

For this year’s prize, we invite nominations of outstanding articles or chapters that were published during calendar years of 2021 or 2022. Advanced publications and/or online publications that were first released in 2020 but later published in print in 2021 may also be nominated. TIRF will only consider publications nominated by someone other than the author(s) of the published work. Individuals may only nominate one article/chapter per competition year. An author may have only one article/chapter under review per competition year.

A prize of $500 will be awarded for an article or chapter published in English and dealing with some aspect of language policy or planning in educational contexts. Submissions may be articles published in scholarly peer-reviewed journals or peer-reviewed chapters in edited books.

The following link can be used to learn about eligibility restrictions (see the “2023 Competition” tab), important dates, nomination procedures, past recipients, and more:

TIRF Alatis Prize Recipients

2022: Chris Chang-Bacon
2021: Kate Seltzer
2020: Nicholas Limerick
2019: Nelson Flores & Sofía Chaparro
2018: Sara Kangas
2017: Katherine Mortimer
2016: Shondel Nero