Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join or Create a Guest Account
News & Press: News

AAAL 2018 Award Winners Announced

Wednesday, March 14, 2018   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Jessica Atkinson
Share |

AAAL 2018 Award Winners Announced

Press Contact Information:
Sarah Berke, CAE
American Association for Applied Linguistics (AAAL)

American Association for Applied Linguistics Awards Presented at 2018 Annual Conference

Association Recognizes Leaders and Contributors in the field of Applied Linguistics

Atlanta, GA – March 14, 2018 – The American Association for Applied Linguistics (AAAL) community is proud to recognize and honor exemplary contributions to the field of Applied Linguistics. The awards are a highly visible component of the association’s statements about standards of excellence in the field.

The AAAL awards are bestowed upon deserving recipients annually in recognition of outstanding service, research, and publications in the field of applied linguistics.

The awards will be presented during the 2018 Annual Conference from March 24 to 27, 2018 in Chicago, Illinois. AAAL Vice President and Conference Committee Chair Linda Harklau will preside over the ceremony.

The award winners, categories and explanations are listed below:

Distinguished Scholarship and Service Award (DSSA)

The Distinguished Scholarship and Service Award recognizes and honors a distinguished scholar for her/his scholarship and service to the profession in general and to the American Association for Applied Linguistics in particular.

The recipient of the 2018 DSSA is Suresh Canagarajah, Penn State University.

Distinguished Public Service Award (DPSA)

The American Association for Applied Linguistics (AAAL) award for Distinguished Public Service recognizes individuals outside of the field of applied linguistics – writers, journalists, politicians, lawyers, etc. – whose work (1) raises public awareness of important social issues connected to language and (2) makes exceptional contributions to promotion of multilingualism, linguistic social justice, and language-related human rights.

The recipients of the 2018 DPSA are Honorable Ida K. Chen and Osvaldo Aviles.

Graduate Student Award

The Graduate Student Award is a merit-based award that supports attendance of AAAL graduate student members at the annual conference. The 2016 Graduate Student Awards were made possible by AAAL members’ contributions to the Fund for the Future of Applied Linguistics (FFAL), as well as the generous support of Educational Testing Service, Multilingual Matters, and the estate of Wilga Rivers, the first president of AAAL.

The 2018 Graduate Student Award Winners are Angelica Galante, University of Toronto (Multilingual Matters); Alexandra Martin, Georgetown University (Wilga Rivers Award); Hyeyoon Cho, University of Toronto; Jeffrey Scott Maloney, Michigan State University; Junichi Yagi, University of Hawaii at Manoa; Leah Carey, University of Minnesota

Book Award

The American Association for Applied Linguistics AAAL First Book Award recognizes a scholar whose first book represents outstanding work in the field of applied linguistics. In bestowing this award, the association honors high quality books that make an exceptional contribution to the field as a whole or to a specific area of specialization. The First Book Award will be given biennially, alternating every other year with the AAAL Book Award.

The 2018 Award Winners "Language Policy and Political Economy" edited by Thomas Ricento
and published by Oxford University Press (edited book) and "The Invention of Monolingualism" by David Gramling and published by Bloomsbury Publishing (monograph).

 Dissertation Award

The Dissertation Award began in 2016 to acknowledge a dissertation that demonstrates research excellence, transcends narrow disciplinary fields, and has broad impact on and implications for the field of applied linguistics as a whole. To be eligible for this award, dissertations must have been completed during the previous two years.

The 2018 Award Winner is Christine Muir, University of Nottingham

Research Article Award

The AAAL Research Article award is bestowed annually upon the author or authors of a published refereed journal article which is recognized by leaders in the field to be of outstanding quality and to hold the broadest potential impact on the advancement of applied linguistic knowledge. This is a non-cash award consisting of a certificate presented to the author (a certificate will be presented to each author, if the winner is a multi-authored article).

The 2018 Research Article Award winner is Schepens, J., Van der Slik, F., & Van Hout, R. (2016). L1 and L2 distance effects in learning L3 Dutch. Language Learning, 66, 224-256. doi:10.1111/lang.12150




Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal