Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join or Create a Guest Account
News & Press: News

AAAL 2017 Award Winners Announced

Friday, March 24, 2017   (0 Comments)
Share |

AAAL 2017 Award Winners Announced

Press Contact Information:
Sarah Berke, CAE
American Association for Applied Linguistics (AAAL)

American Association for Applied Linguistics Awards Presented at 2017 Annual Conference

Association Recognizes Leaders and Contributors in the field of Applied Linguistics

Atlanta, GA – March 24, 2017 – The American Association for Applied Linguistics (AAAL) community is proud to recognize and honor exemplary contributions to the field of Applied Linguistics. The awards are a highly visible component of the association’s statements about standards of excellence in the field.

The AAAL awards are bestowed upon deserving recipients annually in recognition of outstanding service, research, and publications in the field of applied linguistics.

The awards were presented during the 2017 Annual Conference from March 18 to 21, 2017 in Portland, Oregon. AAAL Vice President and Conference Committee Chair Tim McNamara presided over the ceremony.

The award winners, categories and explanations are listed below:

Graduate Student Award

The Graduate Student Award is a merit-based award that supports attendance of AAAL graduate student members at the annual conference. The 2016 Graduate Student Awards were made possible by AAAL members’ contributions to the Fund for the Future of Applied Linguistics (FFAL), as well as the generous support of Educational Testing Service, Multilingual Matters, and the estate of Wilga Rivers, the first president of AAAL.

The 2017 Graduate Student Award Winners are Lydia Catedral, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (Multilingual Matters Award); Naoko Mochizuki, University of New South Wales (Wilga Rivers Award); Jungmin Lim, Michigan State University (ETS Award); Katherine Masters, Pennsylvania State University; Eun Young Bae, University of California, Las Angeles; and Taichi Yamashita, Iowa State University.

First Book Award

The American Association for Applied Linguistics AAAL First Book Award recognizes a scholar whose first book represents outstanding work in the field of applied linguistics. In bestowing this award, the association honors high quality books that make an exceptional contribution to the field as a whole or to a specific area of specialization. The First Book Award will be given biennially, alternating every other year with the AAAL Book Award.

The 2017 Award Winner is "Sociocultural Theory and L2 Instructional Pragmatics" authored by Rémi Van Compernolle and published by Multilingual Matters.

Dissertation Award

The Dissertation Award began in 2016 to acknowledge a dissertation that demonstrates research excellence, transcends narrow disciplinary fields, and has broad impact on and implications for the field of applied linguistics as a whole. To be eligible for this award, dissertations must have been completed during the previous two years.

The 2016 Award Winner is Shoko Sasayama, University of Tokyo.




Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal