Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join or Create a Guest Account
News & Press: AAALetter

A Message from our Secretary-Treasurer, Jeff Connor-Linton-- 2016 AAAL Election Results!

Wednesday, September 14, 2016   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Jeff Connor-Linton, Secretary-Treasurer
Share |

Many thanks to the 2015-2016 Nominating Committee (Keiko Koda, Chair; Charlene Polio, Guadalupe Valdez, Fredricka Stoller, Ryuko Kubota, and Aneta Pavlenko [ex officio]), for recruiting a strong slate of candidates. 309 members of AAAL voted in this year’s election.

Laura Collins was elected Second Vice President. Laura is Associate Professor of Applied Linguistics in the Department of Education at Concordia University. Her research has won the AAAL Graduate Student Travel Award and the Paul Pimsleur Award for Research in Foreign Language Education and includes studies of features of input exposure and output practice that constrain/facilitate classroom language learning; the mathematical modelling of second language vocabulary learning; cross-linguistic influence on the learning of morpho-syntax, phonology, and lexis; and bilingual literacy practices with French-English school-aged children. She has been Graduate Program Director at Concordia, Editor of The Canadian Modern Language Review, and Vice-President of the Canadian Association of Applied Linguistics. She has served AAAL as Executive Committee Member at Large, member of the ARAL Advisory Board, and Local Chair of two conferences.

Glenn Martínez was elected Secretary-Treasurer. Glenn is Professor of Hispanic Linguistics and Adjunct Professor of Nursing at The Ohio State University. Glenn has developed financial management, strategic planning, and constituent cultivation skills as Executive Director of International Programs, Assistant Dean and Department Chair, and as PI/Director of grants from the US Department of Education, the National Institutes of Health, and the National Endowment for the Humanities. He has served AAAL as an abstract reviewer, strand coordinator, and as a member and chair of the Resolutions Committee.

Naoko Taguchi was elected Member at Large. Naoko is Associate Professor in the Modern Languages Department at Carnegie Mellon University where she teaches courses in SLA and Japanese language and culture. Her primary research area is second language pragmatics, focusing on the development of pragmatic competence, and individual and contextual factors affecting the development. Her current projects involve instructed pragmatics, pragmatic development in a study abroad context, and heritage learner pragmatics. Her additional research interests include intercultural competence, English as a lingua franca, and English-medium education. She has served AAAL as member and chair of the Nominating Committee, and as abstract reviewer and strand coordinator for several conferences.

Bill Grabe was elected Trustee of the Fund for the Future of Applied Linguistics. Bill is Vice President for Research at Northern Arizona University, and Regents Professor of Applied Linguistics in the Department of English. His research interests center on reading, writing, literacy, written discourse analysis, and content based instruction. He has served AAAL as President, member and chair of the Nominations Committee and the Sociopolitical Concerns Committee, and as editor of ARAL. In 2005, he received the Distinguished Scholarship and Service Award.

Laura, Glenn, Naoko and Bill will begin their terms of office at the 2017 Conference in Portland.

AAAL members also elected four new members of the Nominating Committee, to join chair Fredricka Stoller in recruiting next year’s slate of nominees. (In addition, Paul Matsuda, Immediate Past President of AAAL, will serve ex officio on the Nominating Committee.)

Meg Malone is Director of ACTFL’s Center for Assessment, Research and Development and Co-Director of the Assessment and Evaluation Language Resource Center at Georgetown University. Her research includes evaluation of a federal teaching and learning initiative on critical languages and comparisons between English language academic writing and test tasks. She is the co-founder of the East Coast Organization of Language Testers, Secretary of the International Language Testing Association, and serves on the advisory board for IRIS and the editorial boards for ARAL, Language Assessment Quarterly and Applied Language Learning. She serves AAAL as its representative to the Joint National Committee on Languages.

Rosa Manchón is Professor of Applied Linguistics in the Department of English at University of Murcia. Her research interests focus on research methodology, cognitive aspects of instructed SLA and second language (L2) writing. She has been a member of the Executive Board of AESLA (Spanish Association of Applied Linguistics) and of AILA (International Association of Applied Linguistics), and Editor of the AILA Review and the Journal of Second Language Writing. She has served AAAL as an abstract reviewer, member of the Task Force on Publishing in Applied Linguistics, and invited colloquium organizer.

Elana Shohamy is Professor of Language Education at Tel Aviv University where she researches the co-existence and rights in multilingual societies within Language Testing, Language Policy, Migration and Linguistic Landscape. Elana is the winner of the ILTA lifetime achievement award and has served AAAL as member and chair of the Distinguished Scholarship and Service Award Committee.

Wayne Wright is Professor of Literacy and Language at Purdue University. His research is on language and educational policies, programs, and instruction for English language learners and other language minority students. He is Co-Editor of the Journal of Language, Identity, and Education and Editor of the Journal of Southeast Asian American Education and Advancement. He is a recipient of the Charles A. Ferguson Award for Outstanding Scholarship and has served AAAL as member and chair of the Resolutions Committee.

Martha Bigelow and Christian Chun were elected to the Outreach Award Committee.

Martha Bigelow is Professor of Curriculum and Instruction at the University of Minnesota. Her research focuses on the language learning and schooling of adolescent refugees from East Africa. In addition, she develops outreach activities in local schools and state legislation on education of language minority youth. The University of Minnesota has recognized her work with the Multicultural Recognition Faculty Award and the Matthew Stark Civil Rights and Civil Liberties Faculty Award. She has served AAAL as a member of the Resolutions Committee.

Christian Chun is Assistant Professor in the Department of English at the City University of Hong Kong. His research interests include English for Academic Purposes, critical literacies, and social-semiotic approaches to language education. He is on the TESOL Quarterly Editorial and Advisory Board.

AAAL relies on the service and participation of its members. Many thanks to those who were elected, those who agreed to run, and those who voted.

Jeff Connor-Linton, Secretary-Treasurer

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal