Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join or Create a Guest Account
News & Press: AAALetter

New Members of the Leadership Team

Wednesday, June 8, 2016   (0 Comments)
Posted by: — Junko Mori, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Share |

At the annual conference in Toronto, Aneta Pavlenko (Past President) and Scott Jarvis (Member at Large) completed their term as members of the Executive Committee. Under Aneta’s leadership, a number of new initiatives (e.g., Promotion & Tenure Guidelines, new awards) have been accomplished. Scott has also provided much needed support for the initiatives by serving on the Virtual Communities Task Force and the Book Award Committee. The Executive Committee thanked the two for their tremendous contributions, and in turn welcomed Linda Harklau (Second Vice President) and Steve Thorne (Member at Large) as its new members.

The full list of current leadership team is available on the AAAL website, but we would like to note that the following members have been appointed as the new chairs of the Standing Committees:

James Lantolf (The Pennsylvania State University) is the new chair of the FFAL Board of Trustees.

Fredricka L. Stoller (Northern Arizona University), a member of the last year’s Nominating Committee, will chair this year’s Nominating Committee. She will be joined by four members to be elected this summer and Paul Kei Matsuda (ex officio, Immediate Past President).

Christina Higgins (University of Hawaii at Manoa) is the new chair of the Distinguished Scholarship and Service Award (DSSA) Committee.


Lynn Goldstein (Middlebury Institute of International Studies at Monterey)  has been appointed as the new chair of the Graduate Student Award (GSA) Committee.

The Book Award Committee and the Dissertation Award Committee will be chaired again by Francis Hult (Lund University) and Jamie Schissel (University of North Carolina at Greensboro) respectively.

Lourdes Ortega (Georgetown University) has been appointed as the chair of the Research Article Award Committee.

Aneta Pavlenko (Temple University) will chair the inaugural Outreach Award Committee.

Last, but not least, Fabiola P. Ehlers-Zavala (INTO Colorado State University) has been appointed as the new newsletter editor. She will begin her work, starting the September 2016 issue.

The success of the association depends on members who serve on the Executive and Standing Committees. If you are interested in serving on these committees and/or would like to recommend candidates, please communicate your ideas through the membership survey and/or by sending an email to

This month’s election determines future members of the leadership team, including Second Vice-President, Secretary-Treasurer, Member at Large, FFAL Trustee, and members of the Nominating Committee and Outreach Award Committee. Please cast your vote by 11:59 PM Eastern Daylight Time on July 11, 2016. In order to verify membership, log-in is required to vote. View biographical information of each candidate here.

The September issue of the newsletter will feature newly elected members.

— Junko Mori, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal