Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join or Create a Guest Account
News & Press: News

AAAL 2016 Award Winners Announced

Wednesday, May 11, 2016   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Jessica Atkinson
Share |

AAAL 2016 Award Winners Announced

Press Contact Information:
Sarah Berke, CAE
American Association for Applied Linguistics (AAAL)

American Association for Applied Linguistics Awards Presented at 2016 Annual Conference

Association Recognizes Leaders and Contributors in the field of Applied Linguistics

Atlanta, GA – April 12, 2016 – The American Association for Applied Linguistics (AAAL) community is proud to recognize and honor exemplary contributions to the field of Applied Linguistics. The awards are a highly visible component of the association’s statements about standards of excellence in the field.

The AAAL awards are bestowed upon deserving recipients annually in recognition of outstanding service, research, and publications in the field of applied linguistics.

The awards were presented during the 2016 Annual Conference from April 9 through 12, 2016 in Orlando Florida. AAAL Vice President and Conference Committee Chair Kathleen Bailey, Ph.D. presided over the ceremony.

“AAAL is a professional organization of scholars worldwide who are interested in and actively contribute to the multi-disciplinary field of applied linguistics” Bailey said. “We are pleased to recognize a number of individuals for their outstanding contributions to our field through these prestigious awards. In addition, six promising young scholars were recognized with the 2016 AAAL Graduate Student Award for their outstanding proposals for papers to be given at our recent international conference in Orlando, Florida. Each of these individuals represented the high level of scholarship and professional dedication we wish to promote through AAAL’s mission and supporting activities.”

The award winners, categories and explanations are listed below:

Graduate Student Award

The Graduate Student Award is a merit-based award that supports attendance of AAAL graduate student members at the annual conference. The 2016 Graduate Student Awards were made possible by AAAL members’ contributions to the Fund for the Future of Applied Linguistics (FFAL), as well as the generous support of Educational Testing Service, Multilingual Matters, and the estate of Wilga Rivers, the first president of AAAL.

The 2016 Graduate Student Award Winners are Geoffrey Pinchbeck, University of Calgary (The Educational Testing Service Award); Beth Dillard Paltrineri, University of Minnesota (The Multilingual Matters Award); Alireza Sobhanmanesh, University of Ottowa (The Wilga Rivers Award); Virak Chan, University of Texas at San Antonio; Andrea R. Leone-Pizzighella, University of Pennsylvania; and Laura Vilkaite, University of Nottingham.

Inaugural Book Award

The American Association for Applied Linguistics Book Award recognizes outstanding work in the field of applied linguistics.  In bestowing this award, the association honors high quality books that make an exceptional contribution to the field as a whole or to a specific area of specialization.  The Book Award is given biennially, alternating every other year with the First Book Award.

The 2016 Award Winner is Translingual Practice: Global Englishes and Cosmopolitan Relations authored by Suresh Canagarajah and published by Routledge.

Inaugural Dissertation Award

The Dissertation Award began in 2016 to acknowledge a dissertation that demonstrates research excellence, transcends narrow disciplinary fields, and has broad impact on and implications for the field of applied linguistics as a whole. To be eligible for this award, dissertations must have been completed during the previous two years.

The 2016 Award Winner is Katherine A. Bernstein, Arizona State University.




Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal