Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join or Create a Guest Account
News & Press: AAALetter

Inaugural AAAL Book Award

Monday, March 14, 2016   (0 Comments)
Share |

In 2016, AAAL is bestowing its inaugural book award to honor a high quality text that makes an exceptional contribution to applied linguistics as a whole or to a specific area of specialization. We are delighted to announce that the winner of the 2016 AAAL Book Award is Suresh Canagarajah, Edwin Erle Sparks Professor of Applied Linguistics, English, and Asian Studies at The Pennsylvania State University, for his monograph Translingual Practice: Global Englishes and Cosmopolitan Relations (Routledge, 2013). The award will be presented at the annual conference in Orlando, just before the plenary by Cristina Sanz on Sunday afternoon.

The book award committee weighed both the scholarly contributions of authors or editors and the production quality provided by publishers in considering nominated texts holistically. In recognizing Translingual Practice, the committee finds that “Canagarajah provides a highly original contribution that questions some of the traditional approaches in the study of multilingualism. He advances the concept of translingual practice with theoretical depth and practical insight. The reader is shown the expressive and creative potential of multilinguals while also being prompted to consider how academic gatekeepers should account for linguistic power relations in teaching and in professional service work like peer review and editorial leadership. In all, the book offers a thought provoking examination of language and literacy as it takes shape through individual lived experiences with globalization.”

Two additional authors were recognized as finalists: Victoria A. Murphy for her book Second Language Learning in the Early School Years: Trends and Contexts (Oxford, 2014) and Roger W. Shuy for his book The Language of Murder Cases: Intentionality, Predisposition, and Voluntariness (Oxford, 2014).

The AAAL Book Award Committee was chaired by Francis Hult (Lund University), and included Doug Biber (Northern Arizona University), Jasone Cenoz (University of the Basque Country), Carol Chapelle (Iowa State University), and Scott Jarvis (Ohio University).

The Book Award will be given biennially, alternating every other year with the AAAL First Book Award recognizing a scholar’s first book. Nominations for the AAAL First Book Award, to be presented at the 2017 annual meeting, will be due on 1 June 2016. Details will be available soon on the AAAL website.

— Francis M. Hult, Lund University

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal