Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join or Create a Guest Account
News & Press: AAALetter

2015 AAAL Election Results

Thursday, August 27, 2015  
Share |

Many thanks to the 2014-2015 Nominating Committee (Naoko Taguchi, Chair; Patricia Duff;
Gabrielle Kasper; Keiko Koda; and Constant Leung) for recruiting a strong slate of candidates. 262 members of AAAL voted in this year’s election.

Linda Harklau was elected Second Vice President. Linda is Professor in the TESOL and World Language Education Program and in the Linguistics Program at the University of Georgia. Over the past 20 years her research has examined factors affecting second language learning and academic achievement of immigrant youth in high school and college. A recipient of the TESOL Distinguished Research Award, she has served on the editorial boards of Anthropology and Education Quarterly, TESOL Journal, TESOL Quarterly, and Reading Research Quarterly. She served as Member at Large of AAAL from 2004-2007 and as Secretary/Treasurer from 2009-2013, and currently serves on the Board of Trustees for the Center for Applied Linguistics.

Steven Thorne was elected Member at Large. He is Associate Professor of Second Language Acquisition in the Department of World Languages and Literatures at Portland State University, with a secondary appointment in the Department of Applied Linguistics at the University of Groningen. His research utilizes cultural-historical, usage-based, distributed, and critical approaches to language development, often with a focus on human interactivity in technology-culture contexts. He has previously served on, and chaired, the AAAL Nominating Committee.

Jodi Crandall
was elected Trustee of the Fund for the Future of Applied Linguistics. She is Professor Emerita of Education at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County, where she co-directed the MA TESOL Program and founded and directed the PhD Program in Language, Literacy and Culture. Her research interests include the integration of language and content instruction, language teacher education, professional development of language teachers and other teachers working in linguistically diverse contexts, and curriculum and materials development. She has served as President of AAAL, TESOL, and WATESOL, the Washington, DC, TESOL affiliate. She was a founding member and former Secretary/Treasurer of The International Research Foundation for English Language Education (TIRF) and is the incoming Chair of the Center for Applied Linguistics Board of Trustees.
Linda, Steve and Jodi’s terms will begin at the 2016 Conference in Orlando.

AAAL members also elected four new members of the Nominating Committee, to join chair Keiko Koda in recruiting next year’s slate of nominees:

Ryuko Kubota
is Professor of Language and Literacy Education at the University of British Columbia. Her research focuses on critical approaches to applied linguistics by drawing various inquiry approaches from cultural studies, multiculturalism, critical race theory, and critical pedagogy. She has previously served on the AAAL Executive Committee as Member at Large and chaired the Nominating Committee.


Charlene Polio is Professor and Associate Chair in the Department of Linguistics & Germanic, Slavic, Asian, and African Languages at Michigan State University. She is also a Co-Director of MSU’s federally funded Title VI Center for Language Education and Research. Her research focuses on research methods in second language writing and the interface between second language writing and second language acquisition research. She is the past editor of the Annual Review of Applied Linguistics and the current Co-Editor of the Modern Language Journal, and has served on the editorial boards of TESOL Quarterly and the Journal of Second Language Writing. She has served on the AAAL Nominating Committee and as the AAAL Newsletter Editor.

Fredricka L. Stoller is Professor of English at Northern Arizona University, where she teaches in the MA-TESL and PhD in Applied Linguistics programs. Her research interests include L2 reading, disciplinary writing, content-based instruction, project-based learning, and curriculum design. She served as a Fulbright Senior Lecturer in Turkey and a Fulbright Specialist at the National University of Timor-Leste. She has trained ESL/EFL teachers and teacher trainers in 30 countries.

Guadalupe Valdés
is the Bonnie Katz Tenenbaum Professor of Education at Stanford University. Much of her work has focused on the English-Spanish bilingualism of Latinos in the United States and on discovering and describing how two languages are developed, used, and maintained by individuals who become bilingual in immigrant communities. Valdés is a member of the American Academy of Education, a Fellow of the American Educational Research Association (AERA), and a member of the Board of Trustees of Educational Testing Service (ETS) and the Center for Applied Linguistics. She serves on the editorial boards of a number of journals including Modern Language Journal, Critical Inquiry in Language Studies, and Research on the Teaching of English.

Peter De Costa and Steven Talmy were elected to the Best Book Award Committee.

Peter De Costa is Assistant Professor in the Department of Linguistics & Germanic, Slavic, Asian, and African Languages at Michigan State University. His research examines the role of identity and ideology in language learning in multilingual settings; qualitative research methodology and ethics in applied linguistics; English as a lingua franca; and sociocultural approaches to second language learning research more generally.


Steven Talmy is Associate Professor in the Department of Language & Literacy Education at the University of British Columbia, where he is involved in both graduate education and K-12 teacher education/certification. His research has focused on K-12 English language learning, integrating close analyses of classroom interaction, interview talk, and critical ethnography to examine classroom resistance, linguicism, language ideologies about ESL, and the stigma of ESL as a social identity category.

Diane Belcher and Karen Johnson were elected to the Best Dissertation Award Committee.

Diane D. Belcher is Professor of Applied Linguistics and Chair of the Department of Applied Linguistics and ESL at Georgia State University. Her research interests include advanced academic literacy, language for specific purposes, cultural identity, and qualitative research methodology.



Karen E. Johnson is Kirby Professor in Language Learning and Applied Linguistics in the Department of Applied Linguistics at The Pennsylvania State University. Her research focuses on teacher learning in L2 teacher education, sociocultural perspectives on L2 teacher development, and narrative inquiry as professional development.



Robert DeKeyser and Sandra McKay were elected to the first Best Article Award

Robert DeKeyser is Professor of Second Language Acquisition at the University of Maryland, College Park. His research interests include a range of topics in the psycholinguistics of SLA as well as instructed second language learning: the roles of implicit and explicit learning, practice and automatization processes, corrective feedback, language learning aptitude, age effects in second language learning, and study abroad.

Sandra McKay is Professor Emeritus of San Francisco State University. Her main areas of interest are sociolinguistics, English as an International Language, and second language pedagogy. She served as TESOL Quarterly Editor from 1994 to 1999 and has served on the editorial advisory board for the Journal of Second Language Writing and the TESOL Quarterly.

AAAL relies on the service and participation of its members. Many thanks to those who were elected, those who agreed to run, and those who voted.

—Jeff Conner-Linton, Georgetown University

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal