Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join or Create a Guest Account
News & Press: AAALetter

New Members of the Leadership Team

Monday, June 22, 2015  
Share |

At the annual conference in Toronto, Joan Kelly Hall (Past President) and Laura Collins (Member at Large) completed their term as members of the Executive Committee. Under Joan’s leadership, the Executive Committee developed strategic plans, which are the basis of a number of exciting new initiatives. Laura also provided energy and insights that facilitated the development of these initiatives. The Executive Committee thanked the two for their tremendous contributions, and in turn welcomed Tim McNamara (Second Vice President) and Agnes He (Member at Large) as its new members.

The full list of current leadership team is available on the AAAL website, but we would like to note that the following members have been appointed as the new chairs of the Standing Committees:

Keiko Koda (Carnegie Mellon University), a member of the last year’s Nominating Committee, will chair this year’s Nominating Committee. She will be joined by four members to be elected this summer and Aneta Pavlenko (ex officio, Immediate Past President).

Wayne Wright (Purdue University) is the new chair of the Resolutions Committee.

Carol Chapelle (Iowa State University) is the new chair of the FFAL Board of Trustees.

Joan Kelly Hall (Penn State University) is the new chair of the Distinguished Scholarship and Service Award (DSSA) committee.


Kate Menken (City University of New York) is the new chair of the Graduate Student Awards (GSA) Committee.

As announced in the 2014 July issue, the inaugural Best Book Award Committee and Best Dissertation Award Committee are chaired by Francis Hult (Lund University) and Jamie Schissel (University of North Carolina at Greensboro) respectively.

In addition, Diane Belcher (Georgia State University) has been appointed as the chair of the Best Research Article Award Committee, responsible for shaping this new award. Two new members of the committee will be elected this summer.

The success of the association depends on members who serve on the Executive and Standing Committees. If you are interested in serving on these committees and/or would like to recommend candidates, please communicate your ideas through the membership survey and/or by sending an email to

This month’s election determines future members of the leadership team, including Second Vice-President, Member at Large, and members of the Nominating Committee, Best Book Award Committee, Best Dissertation Award Committee, and Best Article Committee. If you have not yet cast your vote, please do so by 11:59 PM Eastern on July 1, 2015.

The September issue of the newsletter will feature newly elected members.

— Junko Mori, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal