Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join or Create a Guest Account
2017 AAAL Award Presentations
Share |

Distinguished Scholarship and Service Award

Award to Dr. Patsy Duff.

The award will be presented by Dr. Kathi Bailey, President, AAAL, on Saturday, March 18 at 4:35 PM in Oregon E.

AAAL Graduate Student Awards

The Graduate Student Awards (GSA) are given to graduate students who show academic accomplishment and promise and who are involved in and committed to the field of applied linguistics. The awards are made possible by the generous support of AAAL’s Fund for the Future of Applied Linguistics, Multilingual Matters, Educational Testing Service and the estate of Wilga Rivers. The 2017 Graduate Student Award winners are:

Lydia Catedral – Multilingual Matters Award
Naoko Mochizuki – Wilga Rivers Award
Jungmin Lim – ETS Award
Katherine Masters
Eun Young Bae
Taichi Yamashita

The awards will be presented by Lynn Goldstein (Committee Chair) on Sunday, March 19 at 11:20 AM in Oregon E.

AAAL Dissertation Award

The AAAL Dissertation Award acknowledges a dissertation that demonstrates research excellence, transcends narrow disciplinary fields, and has broad impact on and implications for the field of applied linguistics as a whole.

The 2017 AAAL Dissertation Award winner is Dr. Shoko Sasayama, Assistant Professor, Globalization Office, Center for International Exchange, University of Tokyo, for her dissertation entitled Validating the assumed relationship between task design, cognitive complexity, and second language task performance.

Finalists: Dr. Kimberly Buescher (University of Massachusetts – Boston) and Dr. Robert Kohls (San Francisco State University)

The award will be presented by Jamie Schissel (Committee Chair) on Monday, March 20 at 11:20 AM in Oregon E.

AAAL First Book Award

In 2017, AAAL is bestowing the First Book Award to honor a high quality text that makes an exceptional contribution to applied linguistics as a whole or to a specific area of specialization.

The 2017 AAAL First Book Award winner is Remi Van Compernolle (Carnegie Mellon University), Sociocultural Theory and L2 Instructional Pragmatics (Multilingual Matters).

Finalist: Olcay Sert, Social Interaction and L2 Classroom Discourse (Edinburgh University Press).

The award will be presented by Francis Hult (Committee Chair) on Sunday, March 19 at 5:10 PM in Oregon E.

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal