First Book Award

Call for Nominations

The American Association for Applied Linguistics (AAAL) First Book Award recognizes a scholar whose first book represents outstanding work in the field of applied linguistics. In bestowing this award, the association honors high-quality books that make an exceptional contribution to the field as a whole or to a specific area of specialization. The First Book Award is given biennially, alternating every other year with the AAAL Book Award.


Books published in the two years prior to the call for submissions are eligible for consideration. The submission must also be a scholar’s first published book. For the present award cycle, books must have copyright dates of 2021 or 2022. The First Book Award is given in two categories: (1) monograph and (2) edited book.

Submission of first edition monographs bearing an ISBN are welcome from any publisher or organization worldwide. While second edition books are not eligible, volumes previously published in another language and translated into English may be submitted. A book based on a dissertation may not be submitted for the book award if the dissertation has also been submitted for the AAAL dissertation award in past or present award cycles. Similarly, books previously submitted for the general Book Award may not also be submitted for the First Book award and vice versa.*

The author(s) or editor(s) of a submitted book must be members of AAAL in good standing. Individuals may renew membership or join AAAL concurrent with submission.

Submission Procedure

Submission should be made by the publishing organization. Complete the online submission form below, including the name, address, e-mail, and phone number of the publisher’s point of contact as well as the name, institutional affiliation, and e-mail address of the author(s) or editor(s).

Submit eight hard copies of each book along with the award submission form no later than June 1 to

Andi Edwards
AAAL Business Office
2900 Delk Road
Suite 700, PMB 321
Marietta, GA 30067
United States

Please note that eBooks must be submitted in addition to hard copies. Hard copy books will not be returned.

A publishing organization may submit up to two different titles for award consideration in each category (i.e., up to two monographs and up to two edited books and no more than four in total). To offset administrative costs, a processing fee of 100 USD should be included for each title submitted for consideration. The fee will be waived for non-profit organizations who may submit verification of their status in lieu of the processing fee. This is an administrative fee only; the book awards do not include a monetary prize for recipients.

Awarding Process

Submissions will be reviewed by an interdisciplinary committee of applied linguists who will evaluate the production qualities (e.g., title, layout, copyediting, and indexing) and scholarly contributions (e.g., theoretical/methodological rigor, organization and clarity of writing, and potential impact on applied linguistics), with greater weight given to scholarly contributions.

The publishers of books that are selected as the finalists and the award recipient will be notified in January 2021. These publishers will also receive comments from the review committee which may be used for promotional purposes. The award will be presented at the 2023 AAAL annual conference.

*Note: The present award cycle includes only the AAAL Book Award. The next call for the general AAAL First Book Award will be announced in 2022. While an author’s first book may be submitted for either the general AAAL Book Award or the First Book Award, but not both, the latter award specifically recognizes a scholar’s first book. In the case of more than one author, the nominated text should be each author's first book.

For questions regarding the submission process, please email Andi Edwards at