Distinguished Scholarship and Service Award (DSSA)

The Distinguished Scholarship and Service Award recognizes and honors a distinguished scholar for her/his scholarship and service to the profession in general and to the American Association for Applied Linguistics in particular.

Call for Nominations

Our current call is for the 2022 Distinguished Scholarship and Service Award (DSSA).

The deadline for nominations is June 1, annually.

Any member of AAAL may nominate a person for this award. Current members of the AAAL Executive Committee or standing committees of AAAL are not eligible for this award. Individuals who have been nominated but not selected for the award in previous years are eligible. However, they must be re-nominated with a current statement of nomination and CV to be considered for the current award.

Current members of the Distinguished Scholarship and Service Award Committee and the Executive Committee are not eligible to submit a nomination for this award. Nominations are confidential.

Those nominated must be a current AAAL member in order to receive the award. The recipient then receives lifetime honorary membership in AAAL, lifetime waiver of AAAL conference registration, and an engraved award. The award is presented to the recipient at the annual conference by the President of AAAL or by a person designated by the President.

Please send your nomination to DSSA@aaal.org. The email should include a statement of nomination (maximum length of two single-spaced pages, authored by one or a maximum of two individuals), stating specific contributions of the nominee in the areas both of scholarship and service to AAAL, and an attached current CV of the nominee (or a comparable summary of the nominee’s major scholarship and service achievements). Due to the stipulated need for confidentiality of nominations, only these materials will be accepted.

The nomination deadline is June 1 annually. Award selection is made by September 30 annually.


  • Kathleen Bailey (2021)
  • Ryuko Kubota (2020)
  • Nick Ellis (2019)
  • Suresh Canagarajah (2018) (View Recording)
  • Patricia (Patsy) Duff (2017)
  • James Lantolf (2016) 
  • Carol A. Chapelle (2015)
  • Terrence Wiley (2014)
  • Heidi Byrnes (2013)
  • Elaine Tarone (2012)
  • Diane Larsen-Freeman (2011)
  • Lyle Bachman (2010)
  • Richard Schmidt (2009)
  • Nancy Hornberger (2008)
  • Claire Kramsch (2007)
  • Andrew Cohen (2006)
  • William Grabe (2005)
  • Merrill Swain (2004)
  • G. Richard Tucker (2003)
  • Susan Gass (2002)
  • Jodi Crandall (2001)
  • Shirley Brice Heath (2000)
  • Roger Shuy (1999)
  • Robert Kaplan (1998)
  • Courtney Cazden (1997)
  • Charles Ferguson (1996)