Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join or Create a Guest Account
Call for Papers: Individual Differences in Second Language Learning and Teaching II
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend

 Export to Your Calendar 3/29/2018 to 6/10/2018
When: Thursday, March 29, 2018
Where: State University of Applied Sciences, Konin, Poland

« Go to Upcoming Event List  

Faculty of Philology,
State University of Applied Sciences, Konin, Poland,

Department of English Studies, Faculty of Pedagogy and Fine Arts,
Adam Mickiewicz University, Kalisz, Poland


Department of Applied Linguistics, Institute of English,
University of Opole, Poland

Individual differences in second language learning and teaching II: The individual and the context

Konin, October 8th-10th, 2018



The second conference on the role of individual differences in second language learning and teaching focuses in particular on the interactions between different individual difference factors, both within the individual and with contextual variables, such as the learning situation, the type of task, or the pedagogical options employed. The event will be of relevance and significance not only to academics, researchers, teacher educators, and materials writers, but also to language teachers wishing to enhance their instructional practices.


The event will be organized by the Faculty of Philology, State University of Applied Sciences, Konin, Poland, the Department of English Studies, Faculty of Pedagogy and Fine Arts, Adam Mickiewicz University, Kalisz, Poland, and the Faculty of Philology, University of Opole, Poland. Chair of the Organizing Committee is prof. Mirosław Pawlak (


The following scholars have agreed to participate in the conference and deliver plenary talks:

• Robert DeKeyser (University of Maryland)
• Terry Lamb (University of Westminster))
• James Lantolf (Pennsylvania State University)
• Luke Plonsky (Northern Arizona University)
• Pavel Trofimovich (Concordia University)


We welcome contributions related to the theme of the conference in the form of papers (20 minutes + 10 minutes for discussion), workshops (60 minutes), and posters which could, among other things, focus on the following areas:

• the role of biological and cognitive factors (e.g., age, aptitude, working memory);
• the contribution of affective variables (e.g., motivation, anxiety, WTC);
• different dimensions of the self in second language learning;
• beliefs about different aspects of language learning and teaching;
• learning styles and second language learning;
• socioeconomic factors and success in language learning;
• the role of identity in second language learning;
• individual differences and interaction;
• individual factors and the effectiveness of instructional practices;
• individual differences and new technologies;
• interfaces between different individual difference variables;
• the dynamic nature of individual variation in language learning;
• teaching learners with special educational needs;
• individual differences and teacher education;
• reconciling learner and teacher characteristics in the classroom;
• methodology of research into individual learner differences.

Abstracts of papers and workshops in the range of 250-300 words should be submitted by e-mail to by June 10th, 2018 The proposals should include the title, name, affiliation, e-mail address, and a short biographical note, about 60-80 words in length. Notifications of acceptance will be sent by June 30th, 2018.


After the conference selected papers will be published in a peer-reviewed volume or the journals Studies in Second Language Learning and Teaching or Konin Language Studies. Further information concerning the publication as well as the submission guidelines will be sent after the conference.


The venue for the event will be the Conference Center of State University of Applied Sciences in Konin, Poland, at 4 Popiełuszki St., where all the plenary and parallel sessions will be held, and meals and refreshments will be served.


All the participants are requested to return the registration form and pay the conference fee by August, 31st, 2018. The fee, which covers organization costs, conference materials, lunches and refreshments is 460 PLN for Polish participants and 160 euro for participants from other countries. We will be able to refund 50% of the fee before September 20th, 2018 and after that date no refunds will be possible. The fee should be transferred to the following bank account (bank transfer charges are the responsibility of the payer):

Państwowa Wyższa Szkoła Zawodowa w Koninie
ul. Przyjaźni 1
62-510 Konin
Bank Zachodni WBK SA
IBAN number: PL 65 1500 1461 1214 6004 7669 0000
The title of the payment: IDs 2018 + name of the participant

The registration form is attached at the end of this circular.


The participants are requested to book their own accommodation:

The Konin Hotel which has consented to offer a discount on its regular room rates:

Al. 1 Maja 13
62-510 Konin, Poland
tel. + 48 63 243 76 00
fax + 48 63 243 76 07

Rooms are available from October 7th to October 12th. Rates per night (different standards): single room 135-175 PLN (ca. 35-40 euro), double room 165-195 PLN (ca. 45-50 euro), triple room 240 PLN (ca. 60 euro). Breakfast is included in these prices. The name of the conference should be mentioned at the time of the booking.

The university can offer a limited number of single and double guest rooms, located near the conference venue, the standard of which is comparable to those at the hotel. Depending on room type, rates per night are 25-30 euro, inclusive of breakfast. Credit card payment is possible. Reservations should be made directly with the organizers and they are subject to availability.

For further information participants are requested to contact the Conference Secretary:

dr. Bartosz Wolski
Faculty of Philology
State University of Applied Sciences in Konin
ul. Wyszyńskiego 3c
62-510 Konin, Poland
tel. (63) 2497240 or + 48 606 344 839 (operational from October 4th to October 14th)

Information about the Conference and important updates can also be found on the conference website


prof. Mirosław Pawlak (PWSZ Konin, UAM Kalisz) ( – Chair
dr. Marek Derenowski (UAM Kalisz, PWSZ Konin)
dr. Artur Świątek (PWSZ Konin)
dr. Elżbieta Szymańska-Czaplak (University of Opole)
dr. Bartosz Wolski (PWSZ Konin)
Ewa Konieczna, MA (PWSZ Konin)
Bożena Miastkowska (PWSZ Konin)

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal